Home  /  Sports  /  IPL 2021: Limited spectators will be allowed in IPL matches

IPL 2021: Limited spectators will be allowed in IPL matches

IPL 2021: Limited spectators will be allowed in IPL matches

The second phase of the Indian Premier League 2021, is set to start in four days’ time in the United Arab Emirates. All the franchises are preparing in full gear and have already started their practice sessions. There is some more good news for cricket lovers as fans are all set to make a grand entry in the cash-rich league in a limited capacity. And with the crowds returning back to IPL after almost two years, the second phase of IPL 2021 is going to be more entertaining for all the viewers.

BCCI on Wednesday confirmed that the second phase of IPL 2021 will mark the spectators for the tournament. This will be the first time since 2019 when IPL will have fans at the stadium. In 2020, IPL was played behind closed doors in UAE. Also, 29 matches of phase 1 of IPL 2021 were also held without fans in India.

“IPL 2021 resumes with the five-time champions and current title holders Mumbai Indians taking on three-time IPL champions Chennai Super Kings at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. This match will be a momentous occasion as IPL will welcome the fans back to the stadiums. As they’ll back after a brief hiatus owing to the Covid-19 situation,” the IPL release stated on Wednesday.

“Matches will be played at Dubai, Sharjah, and Abu Dhabi. With limited seating available keeping in mind the COVID-19 protocols and U.A.E. government regulations,” it added.

“Fans can buy tickets starting September 16 for the remainder of the tournament on the official website Tickets can also be purchased on,” the league organizers said.

IPL 2021 to kickstart from Sep 19 with CSK vs MI clash

IPL 2021

The second leg of IPL 2021 will resume from September 19 with the first game to be played between the arch-rivals Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians. A total of 31 matches will be played across 27 days including 7 double-headers. The day games will start at 3:30 pm while the evening matches will begin at 7:30 pm. All games will be held in three venues – Dubai (13), Sharjah (10), Abu Dhabi (8).

The first qualifier is scheduled for October 10 in Dubai. The eliminator will be played on 11th October and the second qualifier will be played in Sharjah on October 13. Dubai will host the final, which will be played on October 15.